COBS Christmas Lunch

Caldy old Boys Society Christmas Lunch

By Phil Hoyle

We had an excellent turnout for the final COBS event of the year at Caldy. Twenty three golfers participated in an eighteen hole competition off the blue tees. Fortunately we enjoyed a fine day despite forecasts of rain earlier in the week.

Six players recorded 37 points but were outside the individual prizes. The trophy was won by Ian Finlayson on only his second COBS appearance with a splendid score of 44 points. Paul Newns finished second with 40 points and Chris Carroll third with 38 points, thus avoiding a complicated card play off amongst those with 37 points.

The team trophy was very closely contested but Ian’s impressive individual score carried the Jacks to the team prize with 145 points from the Nines and Aces who both recorded 141 points. The other Jacks team members were Steve Jones, Bob Nixon and John Curry.

Prizes for nearest the pin on a par 3 were won by Jonathon Meacher (8’th) and Paul Fleming (17’th). Nearest the pin in two prizes were won by Ian Finlayson (3’rd) and Richard Brocklebank (13’th). As usual Paddy Hehir’s name appeared on the nearest the pin marker board – quite a feat as he was not playing.

My COBS ball stock was reduced considerably as four COBS recorded twos – David Rawlinson, Jonathon Meacher, Paul Newns and Ian McKay.

Following a very enjoyable lunch, consolation prizes of two balls were awarded to players who appeared on two or more occasions during the year, but failed to win a prize. Leo Byrne was present to collect his award. Peter Humphrey (who sent his apologies) and Richard Hoppins have two balls due to them. Chris Carroll and Nigel McIntyre also received one ball each as under achievers. Hopefully naming and shaming them will encourage them to improve their performances next year.

The final prize of the year, that of King COB was awarded to the COB with the highest aggregate score over six events during the year (excluding Caldy).

The King COB for 2018 had one first place, two second places, a third place and also had his car keys stolen. No prizes for guessing that Paul Newns takes this year’s award.

Finally I would like to thank you for your support during the year and hope that my successor John enjoys as much support from you and as much good luck with the weather as I did.

The first event of next year is on Thursday January 9’th at Delamere. I hope to see as many of you there as possible.